My “Summer Food & Fun” series got slightly interrupted … by a trip to Italy. Not a bad interruption if you ask me! I figured I’d finish up this little series and then go on to Italy … and Canada. Yep that’s right, Canada. Guess you’ll have to wait and read about that. For now, let’s just say the whole trip was one part sweet and two parts awesome. Now, back to our originally intended broadcast.

This next little lunch and Music Circus adventure was probably my favorite food wise. I think. It definitely wins for best overall experience. Cafe Rolle is a-mazing (yeah, I’m still not sure how to pronounce the name … is the “e” accented or silent like “roll”?? I studied Spanish and Italian, not French. too many randomly silent letters for my taste). Rolle is a little hole-in-the-wall place run by this guy from France, and it’s been featured on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives (you should totally watch the video, because I ordered what he talks about – http://www.caferolle.com/site/index.htm). The place is tiny and we had to wait for a bit. The server was so nice, and when we told him we were on a tight schedule, he made sure to seat us as quickly as possible and provided excellent service. In order to use the bathroom, you had to walk through the kitchen. That’s my idea of a good restaurant. I was fascinated as I watched the chef slicing up baguettes and salmon and whipping things together and talking and calling out orders in French. The kitchen is also open to the dining area, so you can watch everything he’s doing. So fun! I was in culinary heaven. We ordered the prawns and lentil salad (featured in the video), a warm brie baguette, and the hot salmon sandwich. Wow. Everything was incredible! He’s known for his salmon, and I’ve got to say it’s some of the best I’ve ever eaten. Smoked salmon + gruyere cheese + dill creme fraiche = a sophisticated party in your mouth.

After lunch, we saw The Music Man, which was delightful. This was my mom’s favorite out of all the shows we saw. I enjoyed it, but not nearly as much as her. It was kind of like how The Little Mermaid was for me, because she’d grown up seeing this and saw the play when Dick Van Dyke was playing the lead role. So it was quite fun. And afterwards, we kind of had to have gelato again. 🙂

