Lately I’ve been mulling over a few things … God’s comfort, how we comfort others, God’s love, God’s faithfulness, God’s wisdom, God’s timing, God’s goodness. So I guess I’ve basically been pondering the attributes of God. 🙂 I’m very thankful that God’s faithfulness to us does not depend on our faithfulness to Him. He remains faithful even when we are faithless. So I just wanted to quickly share a couple things.

First up – Pastor Bob Childress and Church of the Canyons. I am so thankful for the time I was able to spend at this church under Pastor Bob. I can’t begin to tell you how much I appreciate him – his shepherd’s heart, his love for the Lord, the way he handles the Word. He’s a blessing to many. His sermon on waiting from the life of Moses in Hebrews 11 was such a huge blessing when he preached it in March that I listened to it again this week (and that wasn’t the first time I’ve re-listened to this message). You can listen to it here (the March 13, 2011 sermon).

I’ve been listening to Pandora this week and was introduced to a new song that I LOVE. I shared this with my mom last night, and I can’t tell you how many times she’s listened to it. 🙂 The song is called “Promise of a Lifetime” by Kutless. I wanted to share the words on here, but I think it’s under a strict copyright or something. Everywhere I found the lyrics online had them blocked, and I couldn’t copy them. So … go to YouTube and listen to this beautiful song. I just think this song is such an incredible expression of the heart of someone hurting. It’s “brutally honest,” as a professor of mine used to say. And it brings hope by pointing to the unfailing promise we have from the Lord … He is with us and will not leave us nor forsake us. I was blessed by Psalm 66:20 this week: “Blessed be God, because he has not rejected my prayer or removed his steadfast love from me!”

Along the lines of music … I’ve also been enjoying Andrew Peterson this week (thanks to Chris and Mindy – so awesome to see you guys!).

 

