So remember when I said like 2 weeks ago that I had written a post and then lost it. Well guess what … all was not lost!! So here is the post that I actually wrote on … May 11th I believe.

So I’m really not sure how it’s been so long since my last post … time really does fly! So in order to make up for my absence … how about a chocolate cake?! πŸ™‚ But first, some random updates. The last few weeks have been full.

I went to Chicago for Children’s Hunger Fund’s Children’s Champion Award Celebration Banquet, held at the Museum of Science and Industry. It was an amazing (and very quick) weekend! You can see pictures here. It was such a beautiful event in which God was glorified!

My mom came into town! What a fun whirlwind that was! We went to Stella Mare’s in Santa Barbara, she volunteered at CHF with me for my half day of work on Good Friday, we ate lunch in Pasadena and walked around the Huntington Gardens, we shopped at The Americana (purple bowls featured below were a purchase at Sur La Table – thanks Mom), we went to Aroma (sigh … I just love Aroma … oh! and we were given a free cake), we shopped and hung out at the beach in Santa Monica, we ate Golden Spoon for dinner 3 nights in a row, she helped me in my Sunday School class (thanks mom!), we ate at Stonefire (yum!), we went to a movie, we looked through cooking magazines, and we talked, laughed, prayed, and read our Bibles together! Man, that was a packed 3 1/2 days! And what a glorious 3 1/2 days they were! I sure do love you, Mom! πŸ™‚

Third time’s a charm … Polly and I have tried to see the new Jane Eyre 3 times … 3! The first time, I bailed. The second time, she bailed – well, we both kinda bailed on account of being tired. The 3rd time … success! We ate In & Out burgers in the car on our way down to Los Angeles on a Friday night (I may or may not have dropped pickles and other items, spilled sauce on my [white] shirt, and had Polly wiping up my messes for me). We thoroughly enjoyed the movie. Highly recommend it – the movie that is – although I’d say the eating of In & Out while driving as well; it provided LOTS of laughter and entertainment!

Ummm, back to BCC. I first heard about this cake and its story several months ago. Then, about a month and a half ago, I got to taste it. Let’s just say, I was sorry I asked for a smaller piece; then I ended up having seconds. πŸ™‚ The recipe is from sweet Rhonda, and I’ve been dying to make it. Actually, I’m making it this weekend for a Sunday School Teacher’s lunch, but decided I couldn’t wait that long. My excuse to make it last week was my sweet little Brooke is now half way through college.Β  Why “Boyfriend Chocolate Cake” you may ask? Because it’s the first thing Rhonda made for her boyfriend-now-husband. And let me just tell you … as I was making it and tasting the batter I thought … “I should be having a guy over to eat this, not Brooke!” πŸ˜‰

Mmmm, nothing says cake like butter, sugar, brown sugar, and homemade vanilla (and yes, it's lumpy. someone may or may not have softened her butter enough ... who did that?!)

Sifting! It's basically my new favorite thing. Who knew that there was actually a reason they tell you to sift certain things?! Amazing, I tell you.

Ready for the oven! *note: I made half a cake. It was appropriate for celebrating one's halfway point through college πŸ™‚

Hmmm ... I wonder where the batter that was on those beaters, bowl, and spatula went?? πŸ˜‰

The End. And what a glorious end it was!

Anyone else hungry now??! I’m going to bed before I’m tempted to whip me up one of these puppies!

