If you’ve never heard of the show Psych, you’ve been missing out on the greatest show ever! I consider Shawn, Gus “TT Showbiz,” Juliet, Lassie, and even Henry to be some of my closest friends. Phrases from Psych may happen to find their way into my vocabulary … on a regular basis (“Whaaaaaaat” … “It usually starts with a holla and ends with a creamsicle” … “Sweet dollop of spicy goodness” … “It’s one part vanilla and two parts awesome” … “I’ve heard it both ways”). I am responsible for introducing Polly to this show, and she loves it just as much as I do! So Friday night, we had a long overdue Psych Party! The entrance ticket — a food containing pineapple. Why pineapple, you might ask? Pineapple happens to be a beloved food of Shawn and Gus and almost every episode contains pineapple in some form or another. We enjoyed fresh pineapple, Hawaiian pizza (the best I’ve ever had, thanks to Jenny), chicken salad (yum!!), and pineapple upside-down cake (PUDC). I must confess that I don’t know if I’ve ever eaten PUDC before. I’ve definitely never made it. But the event and this recipe enticed me! The way Deb describes a fear of PUDC is exactly what I felt before this (even though I actually never started eating it until now) …

If you’ve stopped eating pineapple-upside down cake because you were rightly scared off by the seventies wallpaper-like pattern of rubbery pineapple rings filled with unnaturally bright maraschino cherries and the bland, almost pointless cake within that are all-too-accepted as the bakery standard, fear not, you can start again.

I would say that my PUDC was a success, and if you’re going to make one, this is definitely the recipe to try. Everyone really enjoyed it, and it even turned out looking OK! As I started making the cake, I was afraid … very afraid. But in the end, all the fear was in vain. And this is what came out of my oven:

No, this was not baked in an easy bake oven like Shawn’s!

Now after all that I do have to say this … if you minus the pineapple and add more rum, this cake would be PERFECT! Shawn … Gus … I’m sorry, I’m just not a huge fan. I gave it a try, I really did. And I did like it … I just didn’t fall in love. Give me rum cake. Give me chocolate peanut butter deliciousness cake. But please, keep your pineapple upside-down cake.

