Um, so remember when I said I’d provide the recipe for this?

Yummmm

I’m finally coming through on my promise. So Cheryl, this one’s for you! 🙂 And by the way, this loaf is amazing with nutella on it for breakfast. That and a latte … breakfast of champions right there, baby! 🙂

Braided Loaf

From The Great American Baking Book

Makes 1 loaf

I package active dry yeast

I teaspoon honey

I cup lukewarm milk

4 Tb butter, melted

3 cups flour

I teaspoon salt

I egg, lightly beaten

I egg yolk beaten with 1 teaspoon milk, for glazing

  1. Combine the yeast, honey, milk, and butter, stir, and leave for 15 minutes to dissolve.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the flour and salt. Make a well in the center and add the yeast mixture and egg. With a wooden spoon, stir from the center, incorporating flour with each turn, to obtain a rough dough.
  3. Transfer to a floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic. Place in a clean bowl, cover, and leave to rise in a warm place until doubled in volume, about 1 ½ hours.
  4. Grease a baking sheet. Punch down the dough and divide into three equal pieces. Roll to shape each piece into a long thin strip.
  5. Begin braiding from the center strip, ticking in the ends. Cover loosely and leave to rise in a warm place for 30 minutes.
  6. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Place the bread in a cool place while over heats. Brush with the glaze and bake until golden brown, 40-45 minutes. Set on a rack to cool completely.
