After finding a delicious looking pasta recipe that included mascarpone cheese, parmesan, sage, butter, and walnuts … how could I resist? I was a goner. My cooking buddy, Jess, and I made plans to cook this scrumptous looking recipe for dinner Sunday night, along with homemade bread. So the process started in the afternoon with … coffee! And of course, we couldn’t have just any coffee … only Italian coffee would suffice. So with coffee in our cups, we set out to make a “Braided Loaf” which happens to be both delicious and easy! From start to finish, the bread takes about 4 hours, but most of it is just the time it takes to rise. So with step one down, we’re feeling pretty good. And as Jess learned, I like to talk to my yeast mixture … I think it helps it get all happy and gives it the will to rise. πŸ™‚ She busted out her camera, and we documented the whole thing … so I hope you enjoy the pics …

Just waitin'

We took a break for awhile and tried to watch a movie that didn’t want to cooperate for us, even though we tried and tried … and tried again. After some time relaxing on the couch, we finished the bread and began preparations for dinner.

Ready for the Oven!

The beginning stages ...

The sage in the pasta inspired us to add sage to the chicken in white wine … which was an excellent addition.

Chicken with Sage and White Wine ... cooking to perfection

The bread turned out perfectly, as you can see …

If only there were such a thing as smell-o-vision

About to put the pasta on and add all the finishing touches

While dinner turned out quite yummy, the pasta wasn’t quite what I expected, but it was good. The full menu consisted of: Fettuccine with Mascarpone and Sage Walnut Butter, Chicken with Sage and White Wine, Salad with mini heirloom tomatoes and balsamic dressing, and home made, fresh out of the oven bread with rosemary butter. Oh and I almost forgot, for the crazies … orange juice. ; ) All in all, I think our meal was a success and it looked lovely. πŸ™‚

Good job, Jess! : D

Hmmm ... a step up from the card table? ; )

