This post is dedicated to my dear friend, Jenn, who got me hooked on the most amazing blog! This blog, combined with seeing the movie Julie and Julia(“What is it that you really like to do?” “Eat!” “And you are so good at it.” “I am good at it … I’m practically growing in front of you!”), has inspired me to cook. I already loved to cook … but now I just feel more and more like doing it! 🙂 I recently made a zucchini frittata (a frittata is like the Italian version of an omelet, but way, way better!), and I had leftover ingredients to make another. So last night for dinner, I decided to make this scrumptious dish and to document and to blog about my experience. I realized in the process, I’m not a photographer, haha. I have no clue how to take good pics of food … oh well.

IMG_2489

Chopping made so much easier with a Cutco knife!! Love it!!!

IMG_2496

Oh, and I love my wooden spoon from Sur la Table.

Buon Appetito!

Buon Appetito!

Here’s the recipe I made (I modified it from The Silver Spoon recipe – added onion, thanks to a friend’s teaching) ….

Zucchini Frittata

2 tablespoons olive oil

1/4 cup butter

2 and 1/2 cups zucchini, thinly sliced

1 small or 1/2 large white onion, chopped

6 eggs

Salt and pepper

Heat the oil and half the butter in a pan, add the onion and the zucchini and cook, stirring occasionally, for 10-12 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and remove from the heat. Lightly beat the eggs with a pinch of salt and stir in the zucchini. Melt the remaining butter in a skillet, pour in the mixture and cook until lightly browned *on both sides. This frittata may be served hot or cold.

*My sweet friend, Cristina, taught me the trick of how to cook it on both sides. You can try to flip it with a spatuala … but good luck. The easier route … place the lid on the skillet (I recommend doing this over the sink, just in case of a catastrophe) and flip it upside down. Result: the frittata will now be in the lid, cooked side up. Slide the frittata back into the skillet, resulting in the uncooked side down … allowing for it to get cooked!

