This weekend, things were abuzz at The Master’s College due to one thing … WOW. Week of Welcome began on Saturday, as all the new students arrived, unpacked their belongings, met their roommates, said good-byes to family and friends, and were overwhelmed with crazy, energetic, sleep-deprived SLSers. I had the privilege of picking up a friend at the airport Friday and then taking her to the college the following morning to begin her college experience. As we made a Target run Friday night, thought through things she might need, checked into college, set up her room, met her RA and roommate … I was rushed with the sense of “I have been here and done this.” Despite several people assuming I was a new student as well, I actually graduated two years ago. That means my WOW experience occurred 6 years ago. Did you hear (I mean, read) that … 6 years?! I know to some people (anyone older than me who’s reading this), 6 years is not a long time. But to my little mind, 6 years seems like forever ago! This got me to thinking about a couple things … I can’t believe how time flies, and I can’t believe all that’s happened in those 6 years. Take a trip down memory lane with me …

– While I was excited to be at Master’s my first semester and enjoyed it immensely, I was terribly homesick. I missed my family, my friends, my church, my dog … everything! At Christmas break, I did not want to come back to school. I shed many tears during my first months at Master’s. But by the end of my four year college experience, I shed tears over leaving (actually, it was by my second semester that I loved and missed it).

– I met the people who have had the biggest impact on my life – from RAs to RDs to roommates to wingmates to bosses to classmates to professors. I cherish these people God placed in my life, and I am so incredibly thankful for them.

– I made the greatest and most lasting friendships at TMC. Pretty much all of my close friends now are people that I know through Master’s.

– I was blessed to sit under what I believe is the best teaching in our nation – in the classroom, chapel, and church. I was introduced to Rick Holland, John MacArthur, Steve Lawson, CJ Mahaney, John Piper, and many others I am not thinking of at the moment. I was challenged in my faith, grown in my sanctification, and stretched in my thinking. There are certain sermons that still resonate in my mind and heart.

– I experienced IBEX (Israel Bible Extension), which were the best 4 months of my life thus far! I got to study God’s Word where it all took place, made some of my best friends, was so challenged in every way possible (no American Dream!), experienced other cultures, had my heart greatly softened toward missions, shared the Gospel with an Israeli and a Muslim, travelled to Italy for a week and saw everywhere Paul went (plus more), ate falafel and half shekel pita, and laughed a lot. I could go on and on about this semester in which my life was changed, but this post is not all about IBEX … so moving on ….

– On a less serious note … I had so much fun in college!! It’s all about steam rolling in the halls of Dixon, food on the trash can, 80’s parties, Year End Shows, games, Starbucks and Golden Spoon runs, movie nights, Disney Day, etc. etc. etc.

– I was an RA for one year in Dixon … talk about a humbling growth experience … and a whole lot of fun!! 🙂 This time was invaluable in training me in my philosophy of ministry and in understanding the importance of discipleship and life on life relationships.

– I fell in love with Italy! I met some of the dearest Italians, whom I have come to love so much! After college, I spent 3 months in Italy! It was 2 years ago that I was preparing for this missions trip in the Venice area. (I can’t believe it was 2 years ago – unreal!) The Lord taught me so much during that time … read my past posts cuz I’m definitely not going into any more here.

– And to sum up the last year and a half … I worked at Starbucks, moved to SoCal, got hired at GTY, got laid off from GTY, moved a few times, and got re-hired at GTY. Today, I am enjoying my job and looking forward to college ministry in Crossroads.

As I think back on the past 6 years, I think of God’s sovereignty and His amazing goodness. Everything that has happened has been an exact part of His plan for me. Nothing has been a mistake. I praise God for the last 6 years, and I look forward to reminiscing after the next 6. 🙂

