This week, I have been reminded of my need to focus on the cross. When life is difficult and not going as I would choose … it is all the more reason to focus my gaze upon the Savior, reminding myself of the wonderful grace I have been shown in my salvation. Everything seems to fade into the distance when we stop and remind ourselves that we are better than we deserve … we are destined for an eternity with the God of this universe who loves us so much that He sent His Son to bear the full weight of His wrath in punishment for our sin.

Colossians 2:13-14 says, “When you were dead in your transgressions and the uncircumcision of your flesh, He made you alive together with Him, having forgiven us all our transgressions, having canceled out the certificate of debt consisting of decress against us, which was hostile to us; and He has taken it out of the way, having nailed it to the cross.”

Yesterday, I listened to one of my all-time favorite sermons by CJ Mahaney. He is one of my favorite preachers – I love his passion for Christ and the cross. The message is entitled The Cry from the Cross, and I highly recommend listening to it (and enjoy his really funny car story in the intro). The following are some quotes that I wrote down from the sermon …

“If you don’t understand the doctrine of sin, you don’t understand the necessity of the cross … you’ll never understand how amazing grace is.” – CJ

“When I remind you of sin, it is on order to convince you of grace.” – CJ

“If you are not aware of sin … if you do not understand His holiness … you will never appreciate grace, it will never be amazing to you.” – CJ

“Abide hard by the cross. Search the mystery of His wounds.” – Spurgeon

