In recent months, Christian Bale has become one of my favorite actors. I just think he’s a great actor and I really like several of his movies – Batman Begins, The Dark Knight, 3:10 to Yuma, Newsies, etc. Well Wednesday I got to make a drink for him at Starbucks. That’s right … Christian Bale came to Starbucks in Santa Clarita (go figure!). It was quite funny, and as soon as he left all of us working (all girls) definitely started freaking out. 🙂 It was a fun experience and we were pretty excited. But then I got to thinking, and I was sad …

Why is it so easy for me to get so excited so easily over a famous person, yet my heart barely stirs at the thought of Christ? Christ … the One who has completely and absolutely changed my life and done everything for me! Instead, I get excited over this actor who cares nothing about me, doesn’t want me to bother him, and only cares about getting the beverage he ordered. I can get so caught up in the here and now with stupid things that enthrall me. Now, I don’t think it’s wrong to enjoy the fun little moments the Lord provides us with as part of our experience here on earth. But it just makes me stop and think and examine my own heart and what I love and what I get excited about. Why don’t I rush to text people about Christ and things He’s done in my life the way I rushed to text people about making Christian Bale’s drink? I took my lunch break shortly after he was in there, and I was thinking some about this. I was reading in Psalms, and it was really just perfect. Psalm 49 talks about “The Confidence of the Foolish.” It was so appropriate for the moment. It reminded me that man and his accomplishments on earth are nothing. All that matters is Christ and what’s done for Him.

