Just a couple things I wanted to share as I realized today that I have not been faithful to blog since moving down to SoCal …

Birthday Party

Today was such a blessing, as I got to help the Stanisci family give a birthday party for their daughter Rebecca. She had a tea party with her friends and their moms. I had a blast helping with setting things up, serving tea, prepping food, and cleaning up. This family is very dear to my heart and any time I get to spend with them is a privilege. 

A little background for those of you who don’t know … the Staniscis were very instrumental in my going to Italy. Really, God used them to continue and grow the burden in my heart for Italy. They are from Rome and have been here at the Seminary and Grace Community Church for a few years. They will be heading back to Italy this summer. Here are a couple pictures of me and their kids.

Hannah and Rebecca with the beautiful birthday cake

Hannah and Rebecca with the beautiful birthday cake

 )

Davide and Hannah – the kids painted fans, so this is his masterpiece 🙂

)

Here is Mattia - the youngest. I thought it was so cute when I looked over and saw him with his handful of cookies 🙂

“Cheap” Gas
I bought gas tonight for $2.95 a gallon!! I was amazed when my total for filling up my car only came to $30.
Pumpkin Pie
I don’t know about you, but I (and several of my friends) love anything and everything pumpkin! Whether it’s pumpkin pie, pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin bread, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin cookies … we’re all over it! Well tomorrow morning, I am making my very first pumpkin pie! I’m pretty excited. 🙂 I actually will not be eating it (and neither will my friends who love pumpkin). It is for the Spitale family. Monday night, this family will arrive in Los Angeles from Italy. They are moving here for him to attend seminary. The Staniscis have been busily preparing for their arrival, and we are all so excited! The Spitales do not know this, but the house the Staniscis found for them has been fully furnished and stocked with food, bathroom supplies, linens, kitchen items, etc. (and all in the last week and a half)! My contribution … helping with some last minute preparations Monday evening … and a pumpkin pie and a can of whip cream. Nothing says welcome to the U.S. in fall like pumpkin pie (hopefully it will turn out … I’ll let you know). 🙂
