About two weeks ago, I had to go into Venice early on in the day in order to buy my book for my language course. After getting the book, I had about 4 hours before my class started. At that point I had the choice … do my homework for class and study Italian … or wander around Venice. I’ll give you one guess as to which one I chose! J I did not take my little copy of a map of Venice in with me, so I didn’t really know where I was going. I decided that did not really matter though. My IBEX professor, Todd Bolen, gave us the advice to get lost in Jerusalem, because then we would see interesting things we never would have seen otherwise, and we would learn our way around. So, with his words in mind, I set off in the general direction of the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco (St. Mark’s Square). Thankfully, it was not too difficult to find, because there are signs pointing in the direction of the big tourist attractions. J I was definitely a typical tourist that day, with this being my first time wandering around Venice and seeing Piazza San Marco. I had my camera in hand, and I took a lot of pictures of a lot of different things. Those of you who wanted more pictures … here they are!

Here are a couple pictures taken from some bridges around Venice of the canals. The second canal picture is taken from a bridge I cross over right by my language school.

  img_0337.jpgimg_0325.jpg

 I really liked the way this picture of the gondoliers turned out. Sorry Steve, I didn’t ask if either were named Giovanni. 🙂 

img_0358-trim.jpg 

This is a picture of the Rialto Bridge. It is a famous bridge that crosses over the Grand Canal. It is lined with shops and many tourists.

img_0366.jpg

This is the view of the Grand Canal from the Rialto Bridge.

 img_0372.jpg

 After much walking, I finally arrived in Piazza San Marco. In some ways, I was unimpressed with it. Two words I would use to describe this place: people and pigeons. Now, who in their right mind wants to partake in this, I’m not sure! I know that I do not; personally, I think the pigeons are disgusting. But, many others would disagree, as I evidenced that day.

 img_0432.jpg

 Here is a picture of me there. Can I just say that it’s really awkward to be smiling and taking a picture of yourself (and the sun was very bright … and hot!)!! But, I figured some people (like my parents especially) would like to see a picture of me at some point.

img_0438.jpg

This final picture is one that I just thought was kind of cool. These pigeons were taking a bath, and I captured one of them drying out his wings.

img_0444.jpg

