Last week, I had the opportunity to share about the Lord with a little 6 year old girl at work. What an unexpected blessing! I was talking to this girl and saying that her hair was very pretty and curly. The following is how the conversation went …

Hannah: “You’re hair is so pretty and curly.”

C: “I know, that’s the way it’s supposed to be.”

H: “Oh really, and why is it supposed to be like that?”

C: “Because that’s the way God made it.”

H: “How do you know God made it that way?”

C: “Because God does everything!” (the sovereignty of God from the mouth of a six year old!)

The conversation went on and I asked her how she knew about God and if she learned about Him at church. She said she didn’t go to church but she read her Bible – her picture Bible. She said that she loves to read her Bible and learn about God. I asked her if she knew who Jesus was, and she said she knew a little about Him – that He was “mounted on a cross.” I asked if she knew why He died on the cross, to which she replied: “I’m not sure.  I suppose it’s because He had nails in Him.”  I laughed very hard inside and re-worded my question, and she did not have an answer. I briefly explained the Gospel to her … and then it was time to go.  Sadly, I have not seen her again.  I found out later that had been C’s last day at camp.  When I heard that, I praised God for the opportunity to plant a little seed before the opportunity was gone.

Being able to share a little of the Gospel with her was the biggest encouragement to me! I sometimes feel like my job is a little pointless … but then I’m reminded of why God has me there. I’m to be a light in the darkness. I want to proclaim Jesus Christ wherever I am! And it was a reminder to me of how the most mundane conversation – curly hair – can lead into the majesty of God as Creator and how He sent His Son to be our Redeemer! Praise God!

